Dice Masters Battle Report: June 1st

Standard

Hello Dice Masters!

I would like to bring you a recap of the tournament we had this weekend with teams and how they faired. It was a small turn-out as many of the players were out of town or was playing in a rather large Star Wars X-Wing tournament.

Nonetheless, three of us played and had a blast. It was a $5 buy-in with winner takes it all in store credit. Standard constructed rules per dicemasters.com of up to 8 characters and up to 20 dice with 2 basic -of-action cards. We played it best-of-three, which took quite awhile for games with my team, but it was fun.

Tim’s Team

Basic Action Cards:

  • Invulnerability
  • Distraction

Character and Dice:

  • Beast 666: 3
  • Black Widow “Tsarina”: 3
  • Green Goblin “Gobby”: 3
  • Human Torch “Flame On”: 2
  • Ghost Rider “Brimstone”: 2
  • Loki “Gem-keeper”: 2
  • Nova “the Human Rocket”: 3
  • Doctor Octopus “Fully Armed”: 2

David’s Team

Basic Action Cards:

  • Invulnerability
  • Force beam

Character and Dice:

  • Beast “Mutate 666”: 3
  • Human Torch “Johnny Storm”: 4
  • Storm “Goddess of the Plains”: 2
  • Green Goblin “Norman Osborne”: 3
  • Doctor Doom “Reed Richards’ Rival”
  • Loki “Gem-Keeper”: 2
  • Nova “Quasar”: 2
  • Hulk “Green Goliath”: 2

JJ’s Team

Basic Action Cards:

  • Invulnerability
  • Distraction

Character and Dice:

  • Beast “Genetic Expert”: 4
  • Angel “Avenging Angel”: 3
  • Human Torch “Johnny Storm”: 2
  • Loki “Gem-Keeper”: 2
  • Iron Man “Philanthropist”: 3
  • Doctor Doom “Reed Richards’ Rival: 2
  • Storm “Wind-Rider”: 2
  • Silver Surfer “Silverado”: 2

And now for the games and how they broke down from what I can remember. We rotated who sat out as winner stayed and loser went on the first game (so no one would have to sit out for a best-of-three.

Game 1 David vs JJ: JJ won 14 life left

Turn 1 Dave bought a Green Goblin, I can remember that. I responded on turn 2 with a Beast and using Silver Surfer’s global to ramp the following turn. After a couple of Gobby bombs I was able to get out a RRR and actually went with Iron Man to gain some life back (the Beast/Iron Man wall is pretty hard to attack into). Once I had gotten out RRR, I had eliminated the Gobby rush and was sitting at a double digit life total with my team built okay. David got out a Quasar, but my Johnny Storm plinking Iron Man and David proved to be too much and I won the match with 14 life left.

Game 2 JJ vs Tim: JJ won with 12 life left

I recall Tim going first and getting Green Gobby and a sidekick, a perfect Gobby first play. I responded with a Beast I recall and once again using Silver Surfer to hopefully buy a turn 2 RRR which I did not get. Tim bought another Gobby and I believe he used Surfers Global as well. After blocking Gobby’s with sidekicks and removing them from battle, I hit the 5 energy later to get RRR and he changed his strategy to Tsarina. My Beasts ate her as they spun down and dealt him damage and it became a slow stalemate as I was slow to get our my Johnny Storm. I recall us using Silver Surfer’s ability a lot but the game was a stalemate as I would not attack. I won out with my Johnny Storm able to do enough direct damage with 12 life left.

Game 3 Tim vs David: Tim won with 20 life left

This was by far the fastest game. Tim was rolling the gobby bombs and a lot of sidekicks very quickly while David could not get to RRR and his Johnny Storm’s were rolling as energy. 3 dice of Gobby bombs with 5 sidekicks fielded is where a Gobby player wants to be.

Game 4: JJ vs David: JJ won with 10 life

David got to go first and bought a Johnny Storm first turn. I honestly had not thought of how to play my team against this and I was completely thrown. On my turn, I had to think and decided to go with Angel as I banked that he would not want to block with his Johnny Storm. The two of us were racing and I Gem-Keeper’d his Nova as I did not want to deal with the early damage. As we raced him fielding sidekicks and I attacking and removing Angel when needed with Distraction, I came out on top with 10 life left.

Game 5: JJ vs Tim: JJ won with 15 life.

Tim got to go first and went a very hard Tsarina rush, I responded with my Beasts and stalemated his rush. he switched to Gobby mid-game which I Gem-Keeper’d Gobby. At this point he began attacking with Tsarina, hoping I would re-roll as energy so he could get through. With Beast helping me get life and Iron Man there to help as well, I came out on top with 15 life left.

Tim and David elected not to play game 6.

I only attacked my opponent once, and that was to end the game. The team sat back and just dealt with what was thrown at it while dealing direct damage.

I hope you enjoyed this write up. In the future, I will be bringing more detailed battle reports as I will be recording some of the matches. Keep an eye out for our next podcast which will be recorded this week and of course we appreciate any and all comments.

Leave a comment